How to Create, Edit, and Delete Location Types
Once a Building is created in SnapTracker, it should be further divided into Location Types and Locations to organize where to store products. Location Types enable you to divide the Buildings into logical areas, which can be further divided into specific Locations. A Location Type is used to specify a range of functions that certain Locations are designated for. Location Types may designate different rows or aisles in a Building, or areas such as Staging and Docks.
The Location Type screen enables you to manage the Location Types within each Building across your SnapTracker site. Location Types are set up once and accessible across the site. Once set up, you can create corresponding Locations in your SnapTracker database.
The Location Type screen enables you to conduct a search through all Location Types across Building Types and/or Buildings to view respective details and last update dates. You may create new Location Types, or make edits to the existing Location Types, or delete a Location Type as desired. Note: A Location Type can only be deleted if there are no Locations assigned to it.
Before starting, make sure:
- You are logged into SnapTracker.
- You have access to the Location Type screen.
This post outlines how to create, edit, and delete Location Types on your SnapTracker site.
1. In the header section, click Setup.
Note: Depending on your browser, you may need to click the View menu items icon to see Setup.

2. Click the arrow beside Building Setup, then click Location Type.

Another way to access the Location Type screen is to navigate to the Setup main screen.
From here, select Building Setup.

The Building Setup screen displays.
From here, select Location Type.

The Location Type screen displays, with all results.
Note: By default, the results display according to the default filters, sorted by Buildings and their Location Types in ascending order. All Location Types are shown based on your user’s Building access.

Observe the fields in the results:
- All – Select the checkbox of the desired Location Type(s), or select All, to complete a bulk action.
- Building Type – The Building Type code of the associated Location Type.
- Building – The Building of the associated Location Type.
- Location Type – The Location Type code. (Maximum 2 characters).
- Description 1 – The first description field for the Location Type.
- Description 2 – The second description field for the Location Type.
- Last Update Date – The last date any changes were made to the Location Type and the User that completed the update.
- Actions – Available actions for an existing Location Type. The options are Edit or Delete.
3. To create a new Location Type, click Add.
Note: You can only create one Location Type at a time. The Add button becomes disabled until the new Location Type is created or the action is canceled.

A new, empty row displays in the results table.

Observe the fields to input in for the new Location Type:
- Building Type – Empty. This field is populated on creation, based on the Building selected.
- Building – The Building associated to the Location Type. Note: The list of available Buildings to create a new Location Type in are based on your Building access.
- Location Type – The Location Type code. (Maximum 2 characters).
- Description 1 – The first description field for the Location Type.
- Description 2 – The second description field for the Location Type.
Note: The required fields are indicated by an asterisk.
4. Populate the desired fields and click the checkmark icon or Create to create a new Location Type.

If any required fields are missing, the missing field is highlighted and Required displays below.
An error message displays, indicating that all required fields need to be entered.

If the exact same Location Type already exists within the selected Building, an error banner displays, indicating that the Location Type already exists.
Note: The same Location Type can be created in different Buildings, if they don’t already exist.

If the new Location Type is created successfully, a success message displays.

5. To edit a Location Type, click the Edit icon for an individual Location Type.
Alternatively, to edit multiple Location Types, select the checkbox of the desired Location Types and click the global Edit button.

Note: You can edit multiple Location Types that display on the screen at once, not across multiple pages. To edit more Location Types, click the View Number of Results dropdown to adjust the number of results to view on the page.

The selected Location Types change to Edit mode, where editable fields are enabled.
Note: The associated Building and Location Type field is disabled and cannot be modified after creation. If the field is incorrect, delete and re-create a new Location Type.

6. Edit the desired fields.
Click the checkmark icon for an individual Location Type to save changes, or click Update to save changes for all Location Types.
To cancel, click Cancel or the X icon for an individual Location Type.

The Location Types update with the applied changes and success messages display.

7. To delete a Location Type, click the trash icon for an individual Location Type.
Alternatively, to delete multiple Location Types, select the checkbox beside the desired Location Types and click the Delete button.
Note: You can only delete a Location Type if no Locations are assigned to it.

The Delete Location Type pop-up displays.

8. Click Yes to delete the selected Location Type(s).
To cancel the delete, click No or X.

If a Location is assigned to a Location Type and deletion fails, an error message displays.

If the deletion is successful, a success message displays.

For more information on how to conduct a search for Location Types, see “How to Search for a Location Type.”